1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mental Health Issues and Teaching

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by doctorinthetardis, Apr 15, 2012.

1. doctorinthetardis

doctorinthetardis New commenter

Hello.
    About 10 years ago when I was a teenager, I was diagnosed as Bi-Polar with a Borderline Personality Disorder. I've worked so hard and been through a lot to get to where I am today. I guess right now, when I'm having a real hard time regulating my emotions in repsonse to a series of stressful and hard issues I've had to deal with recently, I'm struggling to accept my issues since I am not sure they are accepted within professional boundaries such as teaching.
    When I'm fine, I'm a great teacher. Even when I'm not, I can maintain my work if nothing else. I can be fine for a long time. In fact its this episode I'm having which is most painful because when I'm well, I can pretend that in fact I'm better, it's not part of me anymore. That I don't really have either disorder. They're pretty serious mental health issues to be diagnosed with. Right now I'm feeling very unwell. I am going to the doctors tomorrow to go back on some medication to help. I know I'm strong and I'll get through this. However, I don't want to take long off from work because I don't want to jeopardize everything I've worked so hard to overcome to do a job I love as a teacher.