1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Men in EYFS

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by nhdut15, Feb 20, 2011.

1. I am a male teacher and before going on to supply taught across the primary age range, including reception.
    Last week I had a week long placement in a reception class. I had a phone call from my supply agency consultant saying how I had received the best ever feedback from the school that the agency had ever had for one of their teachers, apparently the school couldn't praise me enough. However, my consultant then let slip that when I was booked, and she had sent my details, that the school contacted her and queried sending a male teacher to cover reception. They actually asked if they could have a famale teacher instead but my consultant stuck to her guns and they obviously still ended up with me. I was totally shocked by this attitude as the school was lovely and extremely welcoming.
    It's no wonder that there are a lack of males in Early Years with attitudes like this. Has anybody else come across this attitude? Why do schools/teachers have this attitude?
    When I first went into reception I attended some EYFS courses and the tutors were ecstatic to have a man on the course, as were all of the other teachers who were also there. The only downside was I stuck out like a sore thumb and I was constantly called upon to answer the questions or talk as the tutors remembered my name much more easily than any of the 39 women who were also there!
    Anyway, getting back to the point of this thread, how could the negative attitude towards men in the Early Yearsbe dealt with? How could we encourage more men to teach this age range?

2. cheekychops

cheekychops New commenter