1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mechanics thread

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by pwc9000, May 19, 2011.

1. pwc9000

pwc9000 New commenter

So the thread gets removed after the time we are allowed to discuss the exam - seems rather pointless. I'm glad I wasted time posting a reply this morning.

2. Thing is ... as a teacher I have to wait 24 hours before seeing the paper (not just edexel)

If I am asked to look at the paper, to clarify an issue or to check for needed resources,
    or any other reason ... I am bound by the rules to not discuss the contents for 24 hours

The rules are clear and professionals will abide by them ... the rest of us assume that professionalism ...
    so assume that people asking questions are nit breaking the rules

These rules have tightened up over the last few years ... perhaps not everyone is clear and the suggestion by DM that TES could put a statement at the top of the board about this may be enough to remind people of their professional responsibilities

3. Maths_Mike

Maths_Mike New commenter

you assue the op is a teacher - this is not necessarily the case
    what about other forums (maybe not even educational ones) were a similar questioned could be posed within the deadline?

4. Maths_Mike

Maths_Mike New commenter

A student could easily have FB friends doing the exam at a different time and the opportunities given todays communication methods for cheating beggars belief.
    If the exams are to be taking at different times they should be different - edexcel need to address this.