1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mean, Median Mode Y5

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by tayla, Feb 22, 2011.

1. Hi
    I am new to Y5. Can anyone advise which term Y5 are introduced to mean, median, mode and which numeracy block. Thanks

2. I am a Y5 teacher who teaches high ability maths. Due to the kids being high ability (some of them very high!) I covered mean, median, mode and range in the Autumn term. However, last year I taught low ability and we took it much more slowly. It's block C - data handling. I don't rigidly adhere to year 5 objectives as some of them are just too easy for my class, so I will occasionally dip into year 6 objectives. It really depends on your class how and when you want to teach the concepts.

3. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

This post kind of sums up what's wrong with primary teaching - which block, unit etc? How tightly controlled have we become? What's happened to having objectives taken from the curriculum and introducing them when you think they are ready? It reminds me of the heydays of the NLS when we had a whole range of termly objectives for text, sentence and word level work with a big tick list.
    Introduce them when you want to and see if they get the idea - mean and median are hard enough anyway even for children in secondary school.

4. A little rhyme I remember from school:

Hey diddle diddle the median's the middle
    You add and divide for the mean
    The mode is the one you see the most
    and the range is the difference between.

5. DM

DM New commenter

And this is what the children will remember ...

Hey diddle diddle the mode's the middle
    You times and subtract for the mean
    The range is the one you see the most