1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ME Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Dewyjersey, Sep 18, 2017.

1. Dewyjersey

Dewyjersey New commenter

Afternoon,

After browsing the forum I need advice and questions answering, shock horror!

My wife and I are both 33 years old, both teachers with a 21 month old son. She is a reception teacher and I am a sports lecturer at a local college. I taught in Secondary schools doing a number of different subjects for around 7 years before my wife and I decided to jet off around the world.

My wife and I live in Jersey where we both have good jobs, we have both taught in England previously. The wage structure in Jersey is very different to England, an NQT can expect an annual wage of 40k with an increase each year until it caps at 50k without taking on responsibility.

While the wage is good, it is offset by the cost of living, which is very high. A few examples of the cost of living being a loaf of bread costs around £2, full time child care £1400 a month, 3 bed house mortgage £1850. Our wage between us after tax has us taking home around 6K after bills we have around £1.5K to play with. This sounds a good amount however due to the general cost of living this goes pretty quickly!

Sorry for rabbiting on I needed to set the scene and give some facts.