1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths videos on YouTube!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Rosiejohal, Apr 14, 2018.

1. Rosiejohal

Rosiejohal New commenter

Hi all! I’m a primary school teacher and I've started a YouTube channel - the videos are going to be about Maths mainly. If you could watch, like and subscribe that would be great! And please share with any parents/kids who need help with Maths?

Here's the link to my channel and first few videos: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb6gSDGWXEpUbVOtPKbrFew

frangipani123 and Vince_Ulam like this.
  2. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter

Thanks for posting these, Rosie, nice work.

One point which many Primary teachers miss is that a method which someone has to draw or write through is not in itself "mental". It's just another formal method even though it is not one prescribed by the DfE. It really is more efficient to use always the columnar methods as the repetition allows the construction of schema which will facilitate the growth of mental arithmetic.

bevdex likes this.
  3. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Lovely, but ummmm how do you envisage these being used?

I agree that 'mental methods' do not include numberlines and so using such a video would be counterproductive.
    (I don't agree that many primary teachers miss this point. Or at least I've never met any, but maybe I've just been lucky.)

asnac likes this.
  4. Rosiejohal

Rosiejohal New commenter