1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths:Using fingers beyond year 1?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by SomeDogsDo, Feb 23, 2019.

1. SomeDogsDo

SomeDogsDo New commenter

Hi
    I am quite new to teaching KS1 and KS2, having previously worked in Early years. I'd love to hear people's opinions on students using their fingers for example, when they don't possess the mental number fact recall in maths lessons. Is there a point at which this is to be discouraged? Should it be encouraged?

Thanks

2. keystage2maths

keystage2maths New commenter

Encouraged, definitely. If a Year 2 child is counting on their fingers rather than needing cubes or a number line, they're doing well.

3. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Lead commenter

I really don't have a problem if students are occasionally using their fingers in Year 6! I know many adults who do this and I don't feel it has an adverse effect on their lives overall! Some of my Year 6s do it out of habit; some say it helps them 'to be sure'. The majority don't do it at all - but as long as they're feeling secure and confident - and making progress, I don't see it as an issue at all.

4. Wotton

Wotton Lead commenter

Once when teaching Y2 overseas a young lad was counting on his fingers and then moved his chair back and continued on his toes. Had to admire his ingenuity and the advantage of warm weather allowing the wearing of sandals all year round.

5. caterpillartobutterfly

caterpillartobutterfly Star commenter

Definitely to be encouraged, right up until the person moves on from this life.