1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths Tutoring KS2 Advice please

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by enrg34, Aug 19, 2016.

1. enrg34

enrg34 New commenter

I am a supply teacher and I'm looking into maths tutoring KS2. I have a few questions though which I hope someone might be able to advise me on.

When tutoring do you follow a specific scheme/book, structured resources workbooks?

If so, as time is limited do you just pick out the areas where they are weak and work on those?

How much written work do you do? I have worked with the Power of 2 books and found those really good for helping pupils, though the work is verbal more than written?

My worry is that you cant possibly cover everything in an hour a week, so is it okay to just focus on certain areas of maths work?

I'm CRB checked for supply do I need a separate one for tutoring? Many thanks in advance.

2. kaitaz

kaitaz New commenter

I tutor through an agency. I contact the child's school and get them to email me a list of topics they wish me to work on. I also administer a short assessment task on the first session which gives me an idea of holes that I can fill whilst waiting for the school to reply. I can email you the assessment if you wish

3. enrg34

enrg34 New commenter

Sorry for the late reply I have been away Kaitaz. Thanks for your comment, I will look into tutoring agency if there is one in this area. That's very kind of you to offer the assessment I would appreciate that thank you.

4. PARTALOA

PARTALOA New commenter

Would you mind sending me your assessment struggling to find something on the internet.

5. PARTALOA

PARTALOA New commenter