1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MATHS TEACHING..ADVICE AND GUIDANCE NEEDED PLEASE

Discussion in 'Primary' started by TEACHER16, Aug 28, 2011.

1. TEACHER16

TEACHER16 New commenter

I am fairly new to teaching...just finished probabtion and at a new school. The new school I work for teach different maths to different groups it appears. So for me thats 3 different maths groups with 3 different topics...I have planned a whole weeks worth of maths for each group...but how I carry it out is going to be very difficult and its stressing me out. Does anyone have any advice on how I can work with only one group at a time? I have not met my new class yet. Thanks

2. This post is a little confusing - differentiation will include at least 3 groups for each session, because obviously the higher ability children will be capable of much more than the average and the less able will need a "watered down version". They shouldn't need different topics, e.g. if the lesson is about money,each group will be doing money related activities.
    To work with one group at a time, it's just like any other lesson - you plan activities that the other groups can attempt independently or with resources other than you, while you concentrate on focussed input with the group you're with.

3. TEACHER16

TEACHER16 New commenter

You would think that...but at my new school each maths group is at a different area in maths so I am teaching 3 differnt topics in one lesson.

4. Its up to you what you teach in each lesson so just change it so they are all learning the same topic.
    Are you saying that some of your class wll be doing handling data, some doing shape and others on number?
    Why?

5. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter