1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths teacher to HOY

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by walkerkatie25, May 9, 2019.

1. walkerkatie25

walkerkatie25 New commenter

I am in my second year of teaching. I have just had an interview for a temporary head of year in my school. I didn't get it due to lack of safeguarding experience. I went for the job to gain experience as a HOY and lead of safeguarding so my question s this: how do I gain experience in safeguarding to become a HOY? Does anybody know any courses I go look into? Any books I can read? I deal with things as a form tutor on day to day basis but they want me to lead on things more and show I have had an impact on a group of people.

Any ideas will be appreciated.

Thanks
    Katie

2. GirlGremlin

GirlGremlin Occasional commenter

In my opinion, becoming a head of Year 2 years into teaching is utter madness... It takes at least 3 years or so to become a good teacher, let alone pick up the wherewithal to do a good job of such an important pastrol role...

But like I said that is only my opinion, and I do wish you good luck although I have no advice for you!

3. NIHistoryTeacher

NIHistoryTeacher New commenter