1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths SATs test prep

Discussion in 'Primary' started by katielou83, Apr 1, 2012.

1. katielou83

katielou83 New commenter

Hi,

I'm an experienced Year 6 teacher but feeling rather deflated!!

We started revising last term and I am so pleased with how focused my children have been - they are working their little socks off!

One girl in particular has been working really hard on her maths and doing extra work with mum at home. If I was to give her a teacher assessment using APP for maths she would easily be a 4b, however each past paper she has done she has scored 3b or below. It's so frustrating for her and for us, as she is also one of the pupils who is always really keen to know how she did!

I have tested at the end of each term and really thought that she had cracked it this time around after all her hard work, but it's just no different.

Decided we now need to work on test technique as this is obviously the issue - any suggestions for how best to go about this? I know lots of people won't agree with doing this, but I really feel she deserves to have a test result that reflects her ability and her mum is quite clued up on levels - comparing her to her brother.

We have already done weekly small group work with her on mistake spotting. She will now have two sessions a week for the next four weeks trying to boost her confidence for the tests. Was going to look through past papers she has completed with her to see if she can spot the mistakes, looking at how we read, underline and decode the questions, checking method etc. Can anyone suggest what else we should look at so this time is beneficial to her?

Thanks so much!

KL

2. katielou83