1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths planning (Year 1)

Discussion in 'Primary' started by orchid77, Jan 4, 2011.

1. I am a trainee teacher and my class uses the Lancashire county council planning. I have been given a week to teach:

'Describe simple patterns and relationships involving numbers or shapes; decide whether examples satisfy conditions'

'Solve problems involving counting, adding, subtracting, doubling or halving in the context of numbers, measures or money, for example to 'pay' and 'give change'

I am really struggling to understand what this actually wants me to teach...i was just wondering whether you could help me understand? My topic is under the sea so all activities need to be related to that which i think is confusing me even more :/

Thanks for your help.

2. I am a trainee teacher and my class uses the Lancashire county council planning. I have been given a week to teach:

'Describe simple patterns and relationships involving numbers or shapes; decide whether examples satisfy conditions'

'Solve problems involving counting, adding, subtracting, doubling or halving in the context of numbers, measures or money, for example to 'pay' and 'give change'

I am really struggling to understand what this actually wants me to teach...i was just wondering whether you could help me understand? My topic is under the sea so all activities need to be related to that which i think is confusing me even more :/

Thanks for your help.

3. comenius

comenius New commenter

If you have a look at the new framework, they suggest you teach the following for each of the objectives you mentioned......