1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths PGCE without a Maths degree

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by fly_solo, May 29, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I'm due to start a PGCE in Secondary Maths this September. I graduated with a First in Philosophy in 2010, had a year in a sales job and am currently on a Subject Knowledge Enhancement course at the uni where I'll be doing my PGCE. I'm getting a bit nervous about September, and am preparing myself for a very pressured year, but am really looking forward to a rewarding career, and am so glad I spent the time after graduating really thinking about what I wanted to do, because I know I've made a good choice for me.
    However, one thing I am concerned about is how I will be viewed with not having a Maths degree. I have A grade A-Levels in Maths, Physics and Philosophy, and an A grade AS-Level in Further Maths, but am well aware that I will need to be a good few steps ahead of my students. I'm doing some degree level Maths in the Subject Enhancement Course, but know that this won't be sufficient as my career goes on. I hope to eventually teach A-Level as well as GCSE, and, at the moment, I have a goal of becoming head of department in a reasonable amount of time (I haven't thought much beyond this). I was wondering if you could suggest a good route to go down as far as knowledge enhancement goes - what courses, night classes etc are out there that would put me on a par with a Maths graduate?