1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths - National 3 Lifeskills HELP!

Discussion in 'Scotland - curriculum' started by MunchkinMe, Apr 30, 2013.

1. I am a supply teacher working in a behavioural school and I have been working on the N3 Lifeskills course. I was wondering if anyone has been working on this and how they are going about trying to develop a course. Any help you could give me would be wonderful.

Many thanks!!

2. Sorry you haven't had any luck with this, especially since i'm in the same boat! Let me know if you've made any progress and i'll do the same.

3. I am also teaching N3 this/next year to a set 4 (of 4) class of 14. I don't have much yet but thought that it would be great to get some ideas shared.

I am going to go for the unit-by-unit approach, starting with Numeracy and using the ready made assessments from SQA. I'm going to do the social context numeracy test because I found somewhere a couple of practice ones modelled upon it. Hopefully this will be done in late October. I have a very loosely sketched out year planner if it is any use to you.

I have gone through the test, listed the topics needed and found existing resources. The course matches pretty closely with Teejay 3G and Access 3 books. I have four periods a week and one of those will be spent on Mathletics with individual pupils practising what they need to or being pushed on a bit.

I am also looking closely at the new Teejay 4a book which is very similar to the old 3G. This is with a view to doing N4 next year with some but probably not all of my class.

What have you both got so far?