1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths - making the learning of key skills exciting - Help!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Lo77ee, Feb 15, 2012.

1. I am a Year 3 teacher and to be honest, finding it extremely difficult to make any of the teaching of the key skills (i.e rounding, multiplying by 10, 100 etc) exciting.
    I am not a strong maths teacher - we have been told that we need to make the maths lesson more fun and exciting - I completely agree - but I really struggle to find ways to make practicing new skills fun.
    I'm probably not the only teacher, who, having taught a skill, then gives my class sheets of boring old NOW TRY THESE to have a go with.

Does anyone have any ideas or is there a magical book called 'How to make the teaching of dull key skills exciting and stimulating?'

Many thanks in advance for anyone's words of wisdom!!
    :)

2. I am a Year 3 teacher and to be honest, finding it extremely difficult to make any of the teaching of the key skills (i.e rounding, multiplying by 10, 100 etc) exciting.
    I am not a strong maths teacher - we have been told that we need to make the maths lesson more fun and exciting - I completely agree - but I really struggle to find ways to make practicing new skills fun.
    I'm probably not the only teacher, who, having taught a skill, then gives my class sheets of boring old NOW TRY THESE to have a go with.

Does anyone have any ideas or is there a magical book called 'How to make the teaching of dull key skills exciting and stimulating?'

Many thanks in advance for anyone's words of wisdom!!
    :)