1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths Key stage 1 Yr1

Discussion in 'Teaching & Learning' started by mrrjmcneil, May 2, 2020.

1. mrrjmcneil

mrrjmcneil New commenter

Hi! Hope you are all surviving lockdown! I’m a secondary Physics teacher, looking for ideas to help my 6 year old daughter progress with her maths. I’ve purchased some work books from amazon and she does “number bots”. Reading is great, Oxford 9, but I think maths is falling behind which is a shame as she really enjoys it! I’m very busy teaching video lessons most days and my wife is a doctor so also very busy. Can anyone recommend resources which will engage her and help her progress independently? Should I buy an abacus? I’ve no idea with KS1! I should probably say she is adding and subtracting single figures up to 10. Counting to 100. Currently doing money, time and measuring. Any suggestions greatly received. Many thanks!

Last edited: May 2, 2020
  2. Camokidmommy

Camokidmommy Established commenter

Have a look at White Rose maths. Their site has lots of home learning.

find maths in all you do, there’s lots at that age - counting things out in different ways, baking, cutting pizza into halves and quarters, collecting items eg collect ten then find how many different ways you can put them in two groups, money - set up a toy shop, tell the time (not as a lesson but incidentally during the day)...

hope this helps you! Good luck. Xx

3. crumbleskates

crumbleskates Occasional commenter

Buy a set of numicon then look up activities to use it.