1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths Investigations help

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Danielle1988, Jul 21, 2011.

1. Whilst on supply I have been using lots of Maths investigations for children.
    I am now a year 5/6 teacher and want to have some of these for my own class. Does anyone know a good website containing Maths problems/investigations. A good one I can remember was frogs and toads... so investigations along that line.
    Any help would be appreciated :)

2. bombaysapphire

bombaysapphire Star commenter

3. Great, thank you. Anyone know of any other websites????

4. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter

5. Colleen_Young

Colleen_Young Occasional commenter

I agree with the suggestions above - have a look at the nrich teacher menu for the helpful curriculum mapping documents.
    This New Zealand problems site has many resources.
    I have collected my own favourites on the following page - mostly KS3 but I suspect some of this may be useful.
    Rich Tasks

6. I
    I also love the Bowland Maths tasks, but, I thought they were designed for KS3.
    I would be very disappointed if the time, planning and preparation I had put into ensuring my lessons were as effective as possible, was for nothing because the students had already completed the task at KS2.
    Is it common practice for primary schools to use Bowland Maths Tasks?

7. DM

DM New commenter

Probably not as a number of schools have complained they are too difficult for many of their KS3 students!

8. CarrieV

CarrieV Lead commenter