1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths input in Reception

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by nikilala, Jan 5, 2016.

1. nikilala

nikilala New commenter

Hi
    I am new to Reception this year and am struggling for what to do as a maths input.
    The first term we looked at counting, number songs, number lines etc.

Can anyone advise what sort of things I could do to engage the whole class/ vary my input as i am bored of interactive games on the board and building number lines.

There is now a considerable gap in where my children are eg. some can count, write and recognise numbers to 20 and one more one less, whereas others cant consistently count objects to 10.
    TIA
    Nic

2. lovecats10

lovecats10 New commenter

Hi - This is how we currently do it in our classrooms - hope this might be of some help . We split the class into two smaller groups for maths input with the TA taking one group and the teacher taking another. This means we can challenge the children who need it and support the lowers better. The TA and teacher swop groups each week to ensure we work with both groups over the fortnight and know where they are at. The smaller groups help with ensuring work is more focused to their needs and it also helps ensure more children can be more involved in the games. It also means we can take the smaller groups outdoors or get them engaged in more active games such as what's the time Mr Wolf or number throw and find etc. We changed to this system from whole class teaching for the same reasons you mention in your post.