1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths doubling and halving and sequences resources- please help

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, May 2, 2011.

1. Hi. I'm a trainee teacher on my final block placement and in one of my maths lessons this week, I'm having practising doubling and halving decimals as my starter and then they are practising counting in decimal steps e.g. 0.4 or 0.09. It's a year 5 class. I know that whatever I find online, I will need to adapt for the children in my class but can anyone direct me to relevant worksheets I could adapt please and also to a fun game involving doubling and halving? I like to make my lessons very interactive and have things for the children to do, rather than just listening to me all the time. I have a few final year exams in a month and I want to get faster and preparing resources so that I have more time to revise because I'm a bit of a perfectionist. I can imagine that some children will find completing the sequences difficult. The year 5 children are split into different ability groups and I have the middle group, but I taught them about decimals last week and some children struggled with it (e.g. with knowing the value of each digit). I want to bring it across in a meaningful way but if I can find some good websites to give me resource ideas or resources I can adapt, that would be fantastic because I'm teaching 80% of the time and I feel like I'm doing nothing but working. I'm tired of having hardly any time to revise each day so can anyone suggest any resources I could use please for this maths lesson, to speed me along? I normally make them from scratch and differentiate, but I'm tired of reinventing the wheel for every lesson. Th