1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

Maths crisis! Advice urgently required!!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by smallypauly, May 15, 2011.

1. I am a year 5 teacher who is going through a major crisis of confidence when it comes to maths! I have a very able group in my class and I'm struggling to challenge them. I think one of the problems I am having is how to stretch them and where to find resources. I know that I can use pitch and expectations and create tasks from there but time is an issue..I have a 2 year old and have been refused part time so am therefore struggling to manage my time which probably contributes to my rabbit in headlights state of mind.

So if anyone has any practical tips which might help me out I would be very grateful!

2. If you have other commitments outside of work you will need to manage your time better - try to put in a few lessons during the week which will have no marking.
    Challenge your children to lead their own learning through open ended problems. I can send you some problem solving materials if you like. (inbox me)