1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maths and physics teachers to get £2K retention payments

Discussion in 'Education news' started by TheShortShort, May 23, 2019.

1. TheShortShort

TheShortShort New commenter

2. nervousned

nervousned Senior commenter

As a former Maths teacher, my annual bonus is substantially higher than £2000 in five years so utterly pointless. Just one of those must be seen to be doing something.

It used to be £3000 after a year.

3. averagedan

averagedan Occasional commenter

I know many schools in my area are giving some kind of R+R bonus or TLR to Maths, Physics and Chemistry candidates.

We've just handed out two to fill our roster for next year.

4. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

nothing new. Its market forces, isn't it. We've had retention bonuses before. Sign to agree not to resign for at least 2 years, have a grand. That sort of thing. In some circumstances, schools consider this good value for money, and they are probably right.

5. phlogiston

phlogiston Star commenter

Heard this before. There's usually a reason (delegated budget) why most maths and physics teachers don't get the bonuses.

6. Lalex123

Lalex123 Occasional commenter

People don’t get into teaching for the money. £2000 is nothing over a year or 2.

In some regions there is a shortage of music teachers so schools have taken it out of the curriculum. I find the disparity amongst different subjects extremely unfair and degrading.

jlishman2158 likes this.
  7. MrMedia

MrMedia Star commenter

It won’t bring more teachers in, but it will reward those already there.

8. border_walker

border_walker Lead commenter

jlishman2158 and SomethingWicked like this.
  9. Happygopolitely