1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Mathematics textbooks

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Kpnuts75, Jun 2, 2012.

1. Hi all! 
    I'm due to start my masters dissertation in September and considering researching mathematics textbooks in some way - not exactly sure of the direction yet. As a secondary maths teacher myself I've noticed a decline in the use of textbooks in the classroom - despite the huge amount of money we spend on new textbooks every time there's a change in specification etc so thought it'd be useful to look at the effectiveness of them and whether the money would be better spent elsewhere.
    At this preliminary stage I'd really appreciate people's responses to the following questions to help me clarify the focus of my assignment.

Does your department primarily use a set of textbooks for the pupils to work from? 

What are the limitations of the text books that you use?

What would your ideal textbook include?

Many thanks in advance for taking the time to respond! All responses no matter how short greatly appreciated.

2. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

agree to some extent, but we have more than ten years for pupils to learn the Maths required. Many pupils clearly have not learnt or understood much of the material by year ten.
    Is that because they have to learn to much, or are incapable, or do not work hard enough, or are badly taught, or use bad resources........
    I have a vague memory of the cycle of learning involving being introced to a new subject, practicing, embedding, gaining confidence, then being ready to move on with confidence.
    the new approach seems to only address the first two steps.