1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

math teaching: "mouse" and "robot"

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by michaelmossey1, Sep 16, 2018.

1. michaelmossey1

michaelmossey1 New commenter

I've been working as a private tutor of math and computer science for a few years.

Previously I got a degree in computer science and worked in aerospace for 16 years.

I've always been interested in teaching, and I've trained in mindfulness applied to education. So, I love tutoring, especially compared to a desk job.

But I don't have a teaching degree, so I'm finding that I have a lot to learn.

I wanted to get feedback about a math teaching idea. I tell my students that "sometimes you have to be a mouse, and sometimes you have to be a robot."

A mouse sniffs its way through a maze, searching for cheese. This is like exploring a math problem, brainstorming, or guessing what math technique to try next. For instance, you are given a problem in which you have to simplify a rational expression. You're not sure what to do next. You might have to guess at something and try it.

A robot follows instructions. It does exactly what it's told, methodically This would be like deciding you are going to factor the top of the fraction. At this point, you need to use the exact steps for factoring. You need to check your work methodically. You may need to recall a list of common errors and check for them.