1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Math teacher here:)

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by MathDen, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I am a math teacher and spend a lot of my time marking and planning classes. I spend up to 60 hours per week doing this. I'd be interested to hear what tricks people here use to speed up their work or to save time. Thanks!

2. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

pupils should be self marking throughout lessons, completely justifiable as it avoids them repeating mistakes, allows them to learn to spot and correct their own mistakes (a crucial exam skill). Then ask the teacher for help with any problems that they cannot identify themselves. Sadly some secondary SMT are very anti this as they like to waste teachers time on repetetive low level tasks such as repetative marking rather than reviewing pupils' self or peer marked work for insertion of AFL into their planning.
    Funnily enough every single primary school that I have visited on supply uses self and peer marking as an integral part of developing independent working skills. Cerrtainly at that age there is little or no evidence of pupils just writing down the answers.

3. Karvol

Karvol Occasional commenter

It depends to what level you expect students to do this. Should every single piece of work done by a student be marked by a member of staff? I don't believe so, as students quite readily assess their own work in class and there is always an element of peer review of work going on in every classroom.