1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maternity pay for part time teacher

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by bristolmover, Mar 3, 2016.

1. bristolmover

bristolmover New commenter

Hi,
    Please could you help me with a query about maternity pay?
    I am a part time teacher, and until September 2015 was working on a 0.8 timetable and I had a TLR. From September 2015 my hours were reduced to 0.64 and I no longer had the TLR. My maternity leave started in November 2015.
    I was under the impression that my contractual maternity pay would be calculated on my earnings from weeks 17-25 of the pregnancy, when I was working a 0.8 timetable, but my school has said that the rate is worked out according to my timetable when my maternity leave started. Is this correct?
    Also, I was paying childcare vouchers during the qualifying weeks, which I understand could affect my SMP. As I was M6 with a TLR but paying £243 per month in childcare vouchers, should I expect to receive full SMP?
    I cannot find the answers to these questions anywhere, so if you could help I'd be very grateful. Thanks.

2. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter