1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maternity Leave Contract

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by missharney, May 30, 2016.

1. missharney

missharney New commenter

I have been working for the school I am in for 30 months. I took a temporary contract on a supply basis in January 2014 as an intervention teacher whilst also providing PPA cover and mentoring, team teaching etc. In May of that year I was told that I would be paid through the summer and start a new contract in the same role but be paid through the school. My holiday pay was again honoured in the summer 2015. My role ceased to exist due to budgets but I was given a maternity leave contract from September 2015. I am just completing a year as class teacher while doing one to one tuition for those doing Y6 sats. In May I was told that I wouldn't be paid during the summer even though as in previous years I was told that they would try their best to pay. This time they arent going to pay even though I am really well respected in the school. What should I do?

2. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

I am fairly sure there is nothing you can do.

The degree of respect you enjoy does not factor in the equation. Take a look again at your existing contract. It is very common for new mums to come back before the end of the academic year. In which case? You lose out.

Sorry.

3. scienceteachasghost

scienceteachasghost Lead commenter