1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maternity leave and returning part time...

Discussion in 'Pregnancy' started by EllieJtech, Jan 6, 2012.

1. Hi
    I'm new to TES forums so apologies if this has come up before (I have had a scan through previous topics but only briefly) but I am rubbish at stuff like this and a bit confused.
    I'm currently 21+2. Although the pregnancy was planned it happened quickly and I haven't been very organised so far.
    Anyway. I'll need to tell school about my intentions re maternity leave soon. I'm due on 16th May & was planning to work until end of April, maybe later. Not sure when to return but thinking either Feb half term or start of Easter hols 2013.
    I'm quite keen not to go back full time, I just can't see how I'd cope with it, so my question is, should I tell school this now - so they reduce my hours in June (we start accademic years in June) and risk losing maternity pay, or can I request to come back part time part way through my leave?
    Or would it be better to stay full time - return to work after easter 2013, work the 5 or 6 weeks until half term and then go part time from that point?
    So confused