1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maternity Cover Dilemma

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by kiff1972, Mar 24, 2016.

1. kiff1972

kiff1972 New commenter

I am currently studying for my PGCE and am in my second placement. During my jobsearching, I have been offered a maternity cover post at a very good local school.

This could mean I am working for less than a year, and have my NQT year to think about.

Do I take it with gratitude, or should I keep looking...and what about such posts do I need to be aware of?

This is my first job, so am very cautious!
    Any advice gratefully received.

2. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

Ask if they're intending to register you as an NQT, and give you the 10% remission from timetable that goes with that.
    Be aware that when the teacher on maternity comes back, that's the end for you. You need to be clear about how much of your NQT year you'll complete.

3. hhhh

hhhh Star commenter

Could you ask if they'll let you do a full year, obvoulsy taking on other duties perhaps? Can you evn do this on NQT now? Remember the woman may or may not come back-could be handy for the school to have someone who might be available. Lots of women end up taking more time off than they expected for lots of reasons-you can't always plan these things.

kiff1972 likes this.
  4. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide