1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Maternity and UPS application

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by SJScarb13, Feb 18, 2020.

1. SJScarb13

SJScarb13 New commenter

Hi,
    I am hoping for some advice. 2018-2019 I was on M6 and went on Maternity leave on the 3rd August (in the summer holidays). I am currently on maternity leave and have arranged to return to work in May.

I have two years worth of experience on M6 and therefore I was looking to return to work on UPS in May. My head has informed me that I will return to work in May on M6, then I can submit my two years evidence by August and then go up the pay scale in September if successful. This will mean I have actually been on M6 for two years.

If I would have submitted by application to the governors by 31st August 2019 then I may have been returning on UPS but as I was so busy at the end of the year whilst being nearly 9 months pregnant, and then giving birth the deadline passed without me submitting my application.

As officially my maternity started before the application deadline, do you think it would be reasonable to allow me to submit my application now for the governors to review before I return to work? Surely as I am returning on reduced hours with a new contract, they could change my pay in that contract?

Thank you in advance!

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter