1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Masters Degree?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by debscats, Sep 18, 2019.

1. debscats

debscats New commenter

Hi all

I'm seriously considering doing a MA in Education. I'm a secondary school teacher in my 4th year teaching. It's my second career (13+ years in NHS previously) and I'm looking to progress into leadership.

Would it be worth it as a career move or more for personal development?

Thanks

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

I did a Masters many years ago. I think it got me interviews and I did enjoy doing it. The final dissertation was the only hard bit.
    Now I'm retired and have moved to a new area its funny how people react if it ever comes up in conversation. One retired police inspector was telling me about his masters and when I said I had one too, he actually made an odd squeaking sound, while a new friend said "Oh no you haven't got two degrees have you!" I remind the family every now and again. I'm proud of it although, apart from the dissertation it really only involved turning up and doing the tasks, not having any advanced intellectual powers.

3. debscats

debscats New commenter

Thanks for this! I think I would really enjoy it but just need to justify the time and cost to myself before committing- although the squeaky response sounds priceless!

4. sidekick125

sidekick125 New commenter

Hi, I'm currently in my sixth year and started mine last year. I am really enjoying it, but finding it hard to work at it every weekend. You do have to sacrifice at least one day a week to get through the information.