1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Marking

Discussion in 'Primary' started by padavid10, Feb 6, 2012.

1. padavid10

padavid10 New commenter

Just a pondering really. I found my old Year 9 maths book the other day and, on flicking through it, found very little marking and certainly nothing beyond ticks for right answers. I'm a fairly capable mathematician and took it through to a-level even without this detailed feedback.
    I'm wondering what studies have been done in to the impact of detailed teacher marking? Does anyone have any links to facts or is this simply something that teachers spend many hours doing without a true necessity? Would simply glancing at books to get a feel for understanding of the class and a well done at the bottom get just as much progress as detailed marking?
    I'm aware this may have some issues regarding self-esteem and drive of pupils but want to know if there have been full studies in to the impact.

2. nick909

nick909 Star commenter

Would be highly interested too. Marking in my primary school books mainly involved the excitement of wondering whether my worked would merely be ticked or have the much sought after embellishment of a "Good", "Very Good" or "Excellent". Or, on the other hand, the dreaded "See me"! Given that I've managed perfectly well to post-grad level without constant written feedback (although, ironically, I can't move for the stuff nowadays!)