1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Marking GCSE coursework - where is my work-life balance?

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by robot1, Feb 2, 2012.

1. robot1

robot1 New commenter

Coursework marking is the worst part of my job. When coursework came in the exam boards probably couldn't believe their luck. They were going to get teachers to do part of their job for free! They didn't even make it 'maker friendly', because it wasn't their problem anymore. I can't understand why the unions at the time accepted this huge extra workload for no extra pay of time. I now spend far more time marking than planning, how does that benefit my students? I am a part time teacher and part time examiner. When I set work such as homework, I always think about making it a bit easier to mark. It's to do with finding a balance, easy to mark but not easy for the kids to do. Exam boards do not need to consider this balance as we do this work for free anyway.
    Sorry not to add anything constructive, it's good to have a moan sometimes.

2. As a science teacher I totally agree with your last comment. The new GCSE ISAs involve more lengthy answers, that require a good deal of scrutiny and a fair amount of subjective interpretation to mark accurately. Where is the time supposed to come from to deal with this workload ?

3. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

Assuming you're still employed in a state school and not in an Academy where Anything Goves, sorry, 'Goes', could I offer the following advice:

1. If you're engaged in drinking a warm beverage or fine wine, place the receptacle in a safe place well away from your computer.