1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Marking Exams and Tax Returns

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by rwdgray, Dec 27, 2010.

1. Hi,
    I'm a full time teacher but I also mark exams for one of the boards. They deduct tax at source but they do not deduct NI contributions. I'm about to fill in a tax return for the first time sincedoing the marking and I assume my earnings with the board are 'self-employed'. I'm a little worried that I should have declared myself 'self-employed' to the HMRC. Should I have done that? Should I have been paying self-employed NI contribtutions as well? [​IMG]
    Anyone out there in a similar situation - full time teacher, occasional exam marker with a tax-return to fill in?

Cheers

2. I am a full time teacher and I also mark for the exam board but I don't fill out a tax return. I assumed the exam board sorted everything since I am by far not the only full time teacher who marks for them!

3. sleepyhead

sleepyhead New commenter

I am a full time teacher, exam marker, and self-employed filler in of tax returns. As far as I know, if you're only doing the first two, you're okay and don't even need to do a return (certainly, my colleague has never done one despite marking twice a year every year for years!)
    My marking goes down in one of my "emplyed" sections, not in "self-employed" and in the past 6 years, I've never had a problem. If you're unsure though, give HMRC a call and ask - they're always really helpful when I've had a problem.

4. Thanks for the contributions.[​IMG]