1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Managing TAs in a SEN classroom

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by svou, Oct 12, 2017.

1. svou

svou New commenter

Hello

I've been a special needs teacher for the last five years, teaching children with a range of special needs, SLD/ASD/PMLD etc. Even though I've loved the kids, loved being able to adapt the curriculum to suit there needs and loved working with a different professionals to give the kids the best educational support, I've really struggled managing the support staff in my classroom.

I've spoken to other SEN teachers who have struggled to manage their staff but I never find any threads on this topic on TES.

Last year, I had a nice team but it soon soured when one wasn't really accepted by the others. She became intolerable and moody and we just had to ignore her outburst for the last term.
    I moved to another part of the city over the summer and had to find a new school. I quickly found a job but after a week at the new school I was starting to have problems with my new TAs. Two of them were terrible! They were lazy, didn't want to make any resources, complained if they had to work with certain children, fell asleep in class, complained about my lessons, complained about everything! When I mentioned this to my Head Teacher I was scolded, being told that I need to manage my assistant more effectively. How is this possible when you don't even have an opportunity to select them in your classroom. I had enough of the school and resigned. I want to go back to mainstream.

Does anyone else have this problem? I would love to hear any tips on how other SEN teachers manage their support staff.

Landofla likes this.
  2. rosiecg