1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Managing marking workload

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Angelil, Mar 13, 2012.

1. Angelil

Angelil Occasional commenter

(x-posted also to the English forum)
    Hello everyone :)
    I've been teaching since 2008, which I started doing on a part-time basis, but through my own choice my hours have been steadily increasing (I now teach 17 hours a week instead of the initial 8 and I also do 2 hours a week of private tuition on top of this).
    With the increase in hours/classes has also come an increase in the size of my classes. My classes had about 20 and 8 students respectively when I started; those same 2 classes now number 33 and 20. In total I'd say I teach about 70 students if I include all my classes and private tuition. On top of this I have 43 students in my homeroom to run around after!
    Naturally when I started I was able to take each child's book once a week and mark it fully with grades and comments. This is getting increasingly difficult to sustain (as you can imagine, teaching English means the written work often requires considerable commentary), especially given that I also have a very long commute (75-90 minutes each way) which makes me very tired.