1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Managing Alpha Parents

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by carolanna28, Sep 24, 2020.

1. carolanna28

carolanna28 New commenter

I have been working in the International school sector for over 28 years, and in management for over 18 years. During my career I have worked in UK, Saudi Arabia, Dubai, Kuwait, Bahrain, Denmark, China and Singapore.

The majority of International schools around the world are fee paying schools, and the parents of these schools have very high expectations. In the majority of these schools is a very diverse, cultural community of families from all over the world. In management in schools it is having the ability to understand people from different cultures and engage with them effectively. Strong cultural awareness and respect, and the capacity to act appropriately based on the context of any given situation.

In some of these International schools the majority of the students are local to the country and often learning is part or all of the curriculum in English as their second language. The parent body can be predominately made up of local nationals and minority expatriates.

Parents in these schools have high expectations and expect unrealistic results in a very short time. My experience of working and communicating with parents can be very demanding and the majority of your time can be spent with parents.