1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Managing a girl with autism (hurting children and staff)

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by kgalvin, Oct 24, 2015.

1. kgalvin

kgalvin New commenter

Good morning,
    I am a teacher in New Zealand and I have just had a 10 year girl with autism moved into my mainstream class of 31 year 5 and 6 students. sShe has been at this school since she was 5 and the violence has steadily increased. It seems to me that it has been 'normalised' and we are just accepting the behaviour.
    She is ORS funded which means she has a teacher aide working with her for 10 hours a week and I have a lot of contact with her educational psychologist. She has a varied and good educational plan in place- some at her own level and some integrated with the rest of the class when it is appropriate.
    This girl is unpredictable. I have recorded between 8-20 incidents a day when she has pinched children (leaving red marks) pulled hair, kicked or hit. She has attacked a teacher aid (repeatedly punched and kicked her) and I have been elbowed and pinched leaving a huge bruise.
    We use visual cues when this happens 'stop no hurting' and she then has a 'consequence or resetting activity' putting beads in a jar.
    The Principal is aware of what she is doing in the class and I have formally complained about the violence but she is unwilling to remove her from my classroom for more than 5 minutes.
    It seems that my new girl rules the roost and because she has autism we have to wear the consequences. We have no policies in place to deal with this.
    I am an experienced teacher and I have a zero tolerance to violence policy for my class. What are some avenues that I can take?