1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Management treatment after corona virus

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by edenhendry, Jun 29, 2020.

1. edenhendry

edenhendry New commenter

Good morning all,

I'll try to keep this brief. Need advice and some positivity (if possible!).

I'm a primary school teacher and middle leader. I've been a teacher for 6 years after changing careers from sales and marketing.

Like all teachers, love my job but hate the workload. This past year, I was doing a 70 hour week. I did it because I felt valued and I was making a difference.

Then lock down happened.

I became the temporary workplace union rep and I couldn't go back to school for keyworkers due to my asthma (DHT made that call although I offered to go in).

Suddenly, I was not part of staff communications. It seemed it was thought I was having a jolly at home, despite having a truckload of admin and future planning to work through, with 3 children to home school too.

I talked to my HT and said I was finding the isolation at home challenging. I'm a single parent with no family in the area.
    My work has been completed ahead of schedule, to a high standard and I've been available as technical support for parents 9-5.

However, I've had 3 phone calls from HT since lock down. I've been asked not to bother calling in to staff meetings held on site, as it's only for those who are in school (I. E everyone else), even though I've expressed that it would help me to feel part of the team.

I began to realise, I'm only valued as a minion, not as a person.

70+ hours a week, losing my free time and time with my family, and then, when I'm not seen as any use to the school, it feels like I've been dropped.