1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Male teacher being forced to change Foundation/KS1 children

Discussion in 'Physical education' started by stopwatch, May 26, 2016.

1. stopwatch

stopwatch Lead commenter

I am a male PE teacher and have just started in a through school in the Middle East. The majority of my timetable is swimming.

I wasn't told this at interview, but I have now been told I have to be present in the changing rooms whilst F1/F2/Year 1 and Year 2 children get changed. There is a TA there, but the teacher goes back to classroom.

The changing takes around 15 minutes, the majority of this time the children are totally undressed, including girls (the boys and girls get changed together). They often come up and ask for help when they are only partly dressed.

In the current climate regards child protection and males I feel like I am being placed in a potentially very vulnerable position.

I have expressed my discomfort at being asked to do this and said it goes against everything I think should/shouldn't happen in this type of situation. I have basically been told to get on with it as there is no other solution (there is, but they won't do this)

Please tell me if I am being unreasonable

2. mikemcgreal

mikemcgreal New commenter

Hi there.

I have been teaching PE to this year group for years. As long as there is TA there you should be OK. Be present as close to the door as possible. Have a chat with the TA and let her know she is not to leave you alone. Encourage the kids to be as independent as possible and give a sticker to the best dresser of the day. I wont do tights or trouser buttons unless a TA is near and aware that I am doing it.