1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Malaysia in Autumn '19

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by pete72, Jul 2, 2018.

1. pete72

pete72 New commenter

Hello

I am a newbie on here. We are planning to teach overseas in Autumn 2019. I am currently an EY Leader ( has a nursery, taking from 2YO and 1 form entry reception) and my wife is a head of a school ( in a medium sized middles school). We 'think' we would quite like to teach in Malaysia but are open to suggestions about surrounding countries too. Our 18 YO daughter wants to take a gap year with us. How easy will it be for her to get a job? Are any countries a no - go for her? Could she get a job in the school too? We have earmarked a couple of schools in KL - do we just target them and send our CVs in September or wait for them to advertise? Are there any issues with teaching couples? Any help would be appreciated....

2. amariB

amariB New commenter

To answer a few of your questions- I’m in Malaysia as part of a teaching couple. No issues at all with teaching couples, in some cases they are preferred. We found it hard to find a place with jobs for both of us, but that was because due to personal circumstances we were jobhunting late in the season. You should be fine if you start early.

Not sure about your daughter- I imagine she would be on a dependent visa which I believe doesn’t allow you to work. A TA job or similar at the school could be a possibility I suppose, then she could get a work visa, although finding 3 jobs in the same place could be tricky.