1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Making the transition from secondary to primary...

Discussion in 'Primary' started by apmcarthur, Jan 11, 2012.

1. I have been thinking about my career a lot recently... And I've been drawn in a huge way towards primary teaching.

I have a computing degree and completed a 11-19 PGCE.

Is it possible for me to move towards primary and if so - How?

Sorry to trouble you folks with this... I rarely post... But so many people offer such great advice I thought I'd ask.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. I have been thinking about my career a lot recently... And I've been drawn in a huge way towards primary teaching.

I have a computing degree and completed a 11-19 PGCE.

Is it possible for me to move towards primary and if so - How?

Sorry to trouble you folks with this... I rarely post... But so many people offer such great advice I thought I'd ask.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

It is possible in the sense you are qualified.

However the reality is that it will be nearly impossible in practice because there are already far, far too many primary teachers for the number of posts.

You will need to convince a prospective HT that you are a better candidate than a primary trained, and possibly experienced teacher. Also that you can teach the entire curriculum, including literacy, maths, PE, art and so on. That you have a good understanding of the teaching of phonics in KS1 and how this relates to spelling in KS2.