1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Making the move from primary to early years?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by charockie, Jan 6, 2019.

1. charockie

charockie New commenter

Hello everyone! So I did my undergraduate degree in early years and loved it. Worked as a TA in reception and later a deputy in preschool room - loved both! Took a couple of years out to go travelling/ explore different options etc. Started my primary PGCE in September thinking I was ready now (had previously started it twice and changed my mind) and it's okay but I don't love it. Had a 7 week year 1 placement, that was okay but so formal with a strong emphasis on maths and English. Currently completed 3 weeks out of 8 on a year 6 placement. Again, it's okay. Spent an afternoon in year 2 and obviously much preferred it, the younger ones are definitely much more fun. However, I am having serious doubts about teaching as a career. Long story short, I have a horse who I have owned for almost 10 years and he is my absolute world. He became very ill with sepsis over the Christmas break and needed three surgeries. It is going to be touch and go for a few more weeks and I don't know yet whether he is going to be okay. I live in London and keep my horse about 20 minutes away, however due to rush hour traffic, it's a 45min/ 1hr drive if I leave my house before 6:30pm. So in term time, my friends and mum help out and I don't really get to see him during the week. Because of what we've gone through the past couple of weeks, I feel like I don't want to return to university and not see my horse. I am now questioning whether teaching is the right path for me after all due to the workload, it is difficult to explain but th