1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Making garlic chicken kievs?

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by uppereastside, Mar 3, 2012.

1. uppereastside

uppereastside New commenter

Hello! I am a very novice cook and would like some tips/help from you!
    I am attempting to make garlic chicken kievs tonight for the first time. Does anyone have any tips? Possibly the best way to keep the garlic in the chicken without it all coming out in the cooking?
    Also what to have with it? I was thinking veg and potato wedges?
    Thank you clever cookery people!

2. egyptgirl

egyptgirl Senior commenter

Welcome to Cookery!
    When I make my garlic butter, I form it into a sausage-type shape, wrap in cling film and set it in the fridge. Then, when you stuff your chicken you can place 1 or 2 slices of this sausage into your chicken breast (its important not to cut all the way through the chicken when you do this - just make a little pocket in the thickest part of the chicken breast and stuff the garlic butter into this...also helps if you flatten the chicken breast slightly with your hand when you've stuffed it). Then, when you do the flour, egg and breadcrumb to coat it, do this twice and then chill for at least an hour before you want to cook this.
    Think that is all my tips...
    Veg and potato wedges sounds a good accompaniment to me! You won't need a sauce as you'll have all of that lovely garlicky butter. Mmmm....

3. uppereastside

Thanks for the advice! So do you mean coat it in egg, flour and breadcrumbs then put it in the fridge for a bit and then coat it again in egg, flour and breadcrumbs? Thanks!

4. egyptgirl