1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Main and second teaching language confusion!

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by alice_in_wonderland73, May 1, 2012.

1. alice_in_wonderland73

alice_in_wonderland73 New commenter

Hello all,

I am an ITT MFL applicant with a rather unusual language situation ... I'm hoping that some experienced MFL teachers can help me with this ..

50% of my degree was German, and I graduated with a 2.1 and distinction in oral German nearly 16 years ago. I then left and went to live in a French-speaking country for 12 years and ended up becoming fluent in French (I'm from a bilingual french/english family), but somewhat forgetting my German. My confusion is this: I am now much more proficient in French than German but I only have French at GCSE (long story why I didnt take it at A level - am now looking into doing an AS level by distance - would that be a good idea??) ... do I still class German as my main teaching language for the interview skills audit?? I know it's all still there but I am a little rusty, not having used it for the last 16 years. I know it would only take me a few weeks in a german speaking country to pick up again ..

Any advice greatfully received as my PGCE interview is in 10 days' time!! Thanks.

2. alice_in_wonderland73

Hello all,

I am an ITT MFL applicant with a rather unusual language situation ... I'm hoping that some experienced MFL teachers can help me with this ..