1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Macloud judgement implications

Discussion in 'Retirement' started by roblow, Oct 4, 2020.

1. roblow

roblow New commenter

Hi there,
    I've been a teacher for 28 years and I 2015 part of my pension was moved to career average and part stayed in final salary.
    If the McCloud judgement means I can go back into the final salary scheme until April 2022, would it mean:
    1. My final tax free lump sum would also be based on the period up to 2022
    2. That my final salary would still be the average of my best 3 consecutive years in the last 10 over that period?
    I'm currently 54 and trying to work out if I would be better off (And could retire at 60)
    Many thanks if anyone can help

2. letap

letap Occasional commenter

From my understanding:
    Q1. Yes, your lump sum would be based up to 2022 - so approx 30 years of service - based on your 28 years of service.
    Q2. If you retired in 2026, your best three in ten would have to be between 2016 - 2026 - unless of course you took a "strategic break" of one month to fix this period of 10 years, however, whether you are better off depends on your own personal circumstances and doing the correct calculations - here I would reference DiddyDave, who if asked nicely will go through the calculations with you.

roblow likes this.
  3. Timmyreader

Timmyreader New commenter

Thanks to DiddyDave for always working on behalf of all of us.

4. roblow

roblow New commenter

Thank you for this. My best 3 years would be in the 2016-26 period. This is my first post here so don't know who First wave is, though I am always grateful for any help. Thanks for replying

5. diddydave

diddydave Lead commenter