1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MA in SEN? Can anyone advise?

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by gemmamarie08, Apr 5, 2012.

1. gemmamarie08

gemmamarie08 New commenter

Hi All,
    I'm after a bit of advice [​IMG] I work in education and have QTS. Some of my work involves working with pupils who have SEN and I'm fortunate to work with pupils across the full age range.
    I am keen to work in SEN more fully in the future (looking at special school vacancies) and along side my current experiences I'm looking into possibly starting an MA in Inlcusive Education and SEN. (You can leave with a PGCert or PGDip if you wish)
    My question really is do you think this would be beneficial when applying for SEN posts in the future? (I'm very aware that it is your skills working with pupils with SEN that are most important but I'm looking at getting more knowledge to go with)
    The course looks really interesting and I have a genuine interest in this area of education but was hoping doing the qualification would also help me to secure a post [​IMG]
    Any advice/suggestions would be very gratefully received!

2. gemmamarie08

Hi All,
    I'm after a bit of advice [​IMG] I work in education and have QTS. Some of my work involves working with pupils who have SEN and I'm fortunate to work with pupils across the full age range.
    I am keen to work in SEN more fully in the future (looking at special school vacancies) and along side my current experiences I'm looking into possibly starting an MA in Inlcusive Education and SEN. (You can leave with a PGCert or PGDip if you wish)