1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MA dissertation SEN

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by sarahbeth82, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Hi.
    I'm a SEN teacher and I'm trying to find a specific area to do my dissertation on. I want it to be around SEN but other than that my mind is completely blank. Anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks

2. Hi.
    I'm a SEN teacher and I'm trying to find a specific area to do my dissertation on. I want it to be around SEN but other than that my mind is completely blank. Anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks

3. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter

Think harder.

4. If you dont have anything useful to say why waste your time and mine?

5. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter

It was useful and a very good idea. I say it as somebody involved in
    Higher Education. Part of a dissertation at Postgraduate level is
    taking the time to formulate research questions yourself. The outcome
    will be much more enriching and engaging for you. It is lazy to just say
    "I want it to be about SEN. I don't have any ideas. Give me ideas." If
    you truly have no ideas, then I question whether a) you should be doing
    an MA b) whether you truly want to do a dissertation on SEN.
    In fairness, and to be frank, I don't see that you had anything useful to say in the OP. You don't even indicate the type of research you are equipped/wanting to do. Theory based. Practice based. Empirical. Involving qualitative interviews conducted in person/on-line.
    If
    you want more of my useful advice: 1) Come to people with at least some framework
    of an idea. People can then help to test it/challenge it/improve