1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

MA as good as a PGCE?

Discussion in 'Professional development' started by PaulMid, Jul 26, 2016.

?

Should I do a PGCE or just do an MA?

1. Do the PGCE

100.0%
  2. Go ahead with the MA

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. PaulMid

PaulMid New commenter

Hi all,

I'm hoping that people can offer me some advice on career progression. I've been teaching for two years in an independent school and have already worked my way up to Head of Department. I'm really keen to progress further into senior management; however, there's one problem - I don't have a PGCE.

I recognise the benefits of doing one, but I now feel it would be a bit of a step back and I resent the culture of having to jump through hoops. The response of pupils, parents and colleagues suggest that I'm a good teacher; my exam results also seem to agree. I am, however, considering doing another MA, this time in Education/Education Research (my first being in History, my teaching area).

Do you think that employers will overlook the absence of a PGCE if i have this? I'm wishing to stay in the independent sector long term, where a PGCE is not essential, but I wasn't sure whether you can have the same level of progression without one.

Any advice?

2. Kartoshka

Kartoshka Established commenter

A PGCE is by no means essential - lots of people get into and progress in teaching without one (those who did a BEd or Schools Direct/GTP, for example). Do you hold QTS? I think that is important, particularly if you want to move to a different school.

3. hhhh

hhhh Lead commenter