1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

low level English - I'm desperate!!

Discussion in 'English' started by jonowen, Feb 4, 2011.

1. jonowen

jonowen Occasional commenter

Hi, I am a teacher in Scotland with an ASN pupil whose Mother is insisting she does a certificate course in English. The pupil cannot work at our lowest level (Access 3) which we have tried for 6 months. Can anyone suggest a course which will be appropriate for such a pupil please? We are considering the ASDAN courses but don't have the staff to implement that at the moment.

Thank you in advance.

2. jonowen

Hi, I am a teacher in Scotland with an ASN pupil whose Mother is insisting she does a certificate course in English. The pupil cannot work at our lowest level (Access 3) which we have tried for 6 months. Can anyone suggest a course which will be appropriate for such a pupil please? We are considering the ASDAN courses but don't have the staff to implement that at the moment.

Thank you in advance.

3. sweetie1

sweetie1 New commenter

I'm not sure what the courses you refer to are as we don't use them in our school. We use ALAN (Adult Literacy and Numeracy) for very low ability students, to ensure they leave with a recognised certificate. I think this pupil's mum is right to insist on this.
    ALAN is online and students work their way up from entry level onwards. It doesn't need full teacher input as such; we have HLTAs who supervise and support but they say that students generally work independently.

4. gruoch

gruoch Occasional commenter

I endorse the above comment - but use the Edexcel spec. it's very accessible and level 2 maths = English = GCSE C (1 GCSE)

5. gruoch

gruoch Occasional commenter