1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Low level disruption

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by sazzle27, May 23, 2011.

1. Can anyone help please? I am in my second year of teaching MFL in an inner city comp and have recently started to struggle more and more with low level disruption- constant talking, pen tapping, swinging on chairs, etc etc. I try to ignore it but I find that I lose my thread with what I'm saying, so I'm sure other pupils must be distracted too. I follow the school's behaviour/sanctions policy and have my own classroom rules in place too. I know you're not meant to take it personally but I'm starting to think it's me!

2. Tom_Bennett

Tom_Bennett Occasional commenter

It's not you! It's them, unless you're swinging on chairs and annoying yourself?
    What you do about it, though, is your responsibility. How do you normally follow up from bad behaviour? I would say that tacitly ignoring some bad behaviour is a good strategy when you have bigger fish to fry, but it sounds like these fish have become whales, and ignoring it isn't serving the best purpose. If it distracts you, then it's bad enough to deserve a reaction from you; not necessarily, immediately, but in the form of after school sanctions. If you apply them to your motley crew then you should see a bit of a decrease. Perhaps they've gotten used to getting away with poor behaviour? unfortunately many children will do it until they're made to stop.
    Good luck
    http://behaviourguru.blogspot.com/

3. langteacher

langteacher Occasional commenter

choose the ones you know that you will get parental support from and ring them up.

4. Its

Its New commenter

OK I am retired so what do I know?